EUROSAFE 2019: Join European nuclear safety experts at ETSON´s annual conference on November 4 and 5 in Cologne, Germany

22.08.2019

Hosted by GRS, the EUROSAFE 2019 – the annual conference of the European Technical Safety Organisations Network (ETSON) – will take place on November 4 and 5 in Cologne, Germany. For the 19th time since 1999, experts from ETSON member organisations and representatives of regulatory authorities, scientific institutions and the industry from all over Europe and beyond will meet to discuss current topics in nuclear safety, nuclear waste management and radiation protection.

The conference programme does not only offer expert lectures in three different topical seminars but food for thought on more generic tasks and challenges in nuclear safety. In the plenary session, Hans Wanner, Director General of the Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate (ENSI) and current chair of the Western European Nuclear Regulators Association (WENRA), reflects on the use of peer reviews to enhance nuclear safety. As in previous years, young scientists will compete for the ETSON Award by presenting their current research activities in a science slam. This year´s winner will be voted jointly by the audience and an ETSON jury. To round up the first day, guest lecturer Maarten Steinbuch, distinguished professor at the Eindhoven University of Technology and multiple entrepreneur, will share his views on the question “Are robots and AI making a safer world?”
On the second conference day, high-ranking representatives of the European Commission, ETSON, the Forum of Nuclear Regulatory Bodies in Africa (FNRBA) and the nuclear industry meet up to discuss with the audience the potential benefits of international networks of organisations dealing with nuclear safety.

Apart from its variety of lectures and discussions, the EUROSAFE 2019 conference also offers the opportunity to get in touch with the ETSON member organisations which present themselves at the TSO Café. The newly established ETSON Marketplace is not only the venue for side events taking place in parallel to the scientific seminars but offers a convenient space for networking.

The full programme of the EUROSAFE 2019 and further information on registration and conference fees are available on the EUROSAFE website.

EUROSAFE 2019: Treffen der europäischen Experten für nukleare Sicherheit in Köln

22.08.2019

Am 4. und 5. November 2019 richtet die GRS in Köln mit der EUROSAFE 2019 die jährliche Konferenz des European Technical Safety Organisations Network (ETSON) aus. Zum 19. Mal treffen sich Fachleute aus ETSON-Mitgliedsorganisationen und Vertreter von Regulierungsbehörden, wissenschaftlichen Institutionen und der Industrie aus ganz Europa und zahlreichen weiteren Ländern, um aktuelle Themen rund um die Sicherheit kerntechnischer Anlagen, der Entsorgung radioaktiver Abfälle und des Strahlenschutzes zu diskutieren.

Das Programm bietet nicht nur Fachvorträge in drei fachlich vertiefenden Seminaren, sondern auch Beiträge zu übergeordneten Aspekten der nuklearen Sicherheit. Hans Wanner, Generaldirektor des Schweizer Eidgenössischen Nuklearsicherheitsinspektorats (ENSI) und derzeitiger Vorsitzender der Western European Nuclear Regulators Association (WENRA), reflektiert in der Plenarsitzung über die Nutzung von internationalen Peer Reviews zur Verbesserung der nuklearen Sicherheit. Wie in den Vorjahren werden sich junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in einem Science Slam gegeneinander antreten. Der diesjährige Gewinner des ETSON Award wird dabei gemeinsam vom Publikum und einer ETSON-Jury gewählt. Zum Abschluss des ersten Tages wird Maarten Steinbuch, Professor an der Technischen Universität Eindhoven, über Chancen und Risiken der Künstlichen Intelligenz und Robotik vortragen.

Am zweiten Konferenztag treffen sich hochrangige Vertreter der Europäischen Kommission, von ETSON und WENRA sowie des Forums der Nuklearbehörden in Afrika (FNRBA) und der kerntechnischen Industrie, um mit dem Publikum über den Nutzen internationaler Netzwerke von Organisationen zu diskutieren, die sich mit nuklearer Sicherheit befassen.

Neben der Vielfalt an Vorträgen und Diskussionen bietet die EUROSAFE-Konferenz auch die Möglichkeit, mit den ETSON-Mitgliedsorganisationen in Kontakt zu treten, die sich im TSO Café präsentieren. Der neu geschaffene ETSON Marketplace ist nicht nur Schauplatz von Side Events, die parallel zu den wissenschaftlichen Seminaren stattfinden, sondern bietet auch einen geeigneten Ort zum Networking.

 

Weitere Informationen

Programm der EUROSAFE
Anmeldung
EUROSAFE-Website